Ensuring Safety + Enabling Innovation

NOVEMBER 26-27, 2018





Community of Federal Regulators 2018 Regulatory Conference

The Honourable Scott Brison

President of the Treasury Board and Minister of Digital Government

Dr. Cary Coglianese 

Edward B. Shils Professor of Law and Professor of Political Science; Director, Penn Program on Regulation

Christopher Hodges, MA PhD FSALS

Professor of Justice Systems, University of Oxford

Diane Allan

President, Measurement Canada, Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada

Susan Ramonat

Chief Executive Officer, Spiritus Partners

Dominic Barton

Senior Partner and Global Managing Partner Emeritus, McKinsey & Company

Leigh Sharpington

Deputy Director at Food Standards Agency, United Kingdom

Tara Mulrooney

Chief Technology Officer, Alberta Energy Regulator

John Ossowski

President, Canada Border Services Agency

Maria Iafano

Director, UL Standards – Canada

Doug Hood

Executive Lead, AGCO NEXT

Trajan Schulzke

Director, Digital Transformation, CGI

Gérard Étienne

Vice President, Leadership Centre, Institute on Governance

Ian Matheson

Executive Coach and Leadership Strategist

Julie Leese

Chief Information Officer and Director General, Digital Services, Transport Canada

Denis Mulhall

Senior Director, Platforms and Applications – Development and Operations, Canadian Food Inspection Agency

Leanne Hachey

Executive Director, Stakeholder Relations and Intergovernmental Initiatives, Office of Regulatory Affairs and Service Effectiveness, Government of Nova Scotia

Patricia Pledge

Special Advisory, Treasury Board Secretariat of Canada

Srikanth Mangalam

President, Public Risk Management (PRISM) Institute

Alyssa Daku

Alyssa Daku, Chief Data and Risk Officer, Canadian Food Inspection Agency

Neil Bouwer

Vice-President, Innovation and Policy Services Branch, Canada School of Public Service

Michael Wernick

Clerk of the Privy Council and Secretary to the Cabinet

Laura Jones

Executive Vice-President and Chief Strategic Officer, Canadian Federation of Independent Business

Marcus Rink

Chief Inspector, Drinking Water Inspectorate, UK Government

Karen Muttersbach

Risk Management Advisor, Environment and Climate Change Canada

Taki Sarantakis

President, Canada School of Public Service

Thomas Kearney

Senior Project Officer, Policy Community Partnership Office

Florentin Blanc

Consultant to the World Bank Group

Kevin Perry

Assistant Deputy Minister, Policy and Planning, Red Tape and Regulatory Burden Reduction, Government of Ontario

Wendy Nixon

Director General, Aviation Security, Transport Canada

Isabelle Des Chênes

Executive Vice-President, Chemistry Industry Association of Canada

Dan Burns

Sr. Director, Product Integrity, Bombardier

David Turnbull

Director, National Aircraft Certification, Transport Canada

Eric Ward

Senior Director, Policy Horizons Canada

Hieu Vu

Director, Health Products and Food Branch, Health Canada 

Will Creswell

Deputy Director, Office for Product Safety and Standards

Department for Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy, UK Government

Serge Joly

A/Director general, BI & Data Management, Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship Canada

Aly Háji

Judicial Law Clerk


Dre. Siddika Mithani

President, Public Health Agency of Canada

Jean-Guy Forgeron

Assistant Secretary, Regulatory Affairs Sector, Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat

Tina Green

Assistant Deputy Minister, Regulatory Operations and Regions Branch, Health Canada



Find last year's event at

© 2018 Institute of Public Administration of Canada