DECEMBER 11-12, 2017


The 2017 CFR Regulatory Conference will explore themes and challenges facing the regulatory field now and tomorrow. 

About the Event

What can be done to transform the regulatory system to be more agile, open and responsive?


How can the government experiment in the regulatory space while maintaining fundamental trust in regulatory authorities?


Why should you attend this conference?

What will you learn?

Who can attend?

What else do I need to know?

The 2017 CFR Regulatory Conference is a national forum for regulatory professionals working in the public sector. The conference will bring together keynote speakers, panellists, and participants from across the regulatory lifecycle, and provide opportunities for expanding knowledge, sharing information, and growing your regulatory network.

In the rapidly changing social, political and economic climate, fueled by new models of service delivery and the take-up of digital tools, regulators and regulatory systems are experiencing increased pressure to evolve and “keep up.” With a focus on adaptation, disruption, and problem solving, the 2017 CFR Regulatory Conference will explore our current regulatory challenges, and examine regulatory alternatives for the future. This conference will allow for interactive discussions and hands-on experience.

Public servants in the federal, provincial, and territorial governments, and academics and think tanks working and interested in modernizing regulatory systems in the country.

Date: December 11 & 12, 2017

Time: 8:00 am – 4:30 pm

Location: Ottawa Events and Conference Centre, 200 Coventry Road,Ottawa ON K1K 4S3

Lunch is provided on both days. Parking is available.

Regular Registration for CFR Partner Departments, October 12 - November 24 - $429

Regular Registration for Non- CFR Partner Federal Departments, October 12 - November 24 - $649

Community of Federal Regulators

The Community of Federal Regulators (CFR) is a partnership of Canadian federal departments and agencies working to facilitate collaboration, innovation and the professional development of public servants working across the regulatory lifecycle in the federal government.

Follow CFR









1:00 PM - 2:15 PM

Networking Break

10:45 AM - 11:00 AM

Coffee/Tea & networking

8:00 AM - 9:00 AM

9:15 AM - 9:45 AM

Breakout Sessions

11:00 AM - 12:00 PM


Starting 8:00 AM






Lunch (Provided) | Networking Opportunity

12:00 PM - 1:00 PM






Breakout Sessions

3:15 PM - 4:15 PM

Networking Break

2:45 PM - 3:15 PM

End of Day 1

4:20 PM

Networking Break

10:15 AM - 10:45 AM

Coffee/Tea & networking

8:00 AM - 9:00 AM

Day 2 Welcome

9:00 AM - 9:05 AM

10:45 AM - 12:00 PM


Starting at 8:00 AM

Lunch (Provided) | Networking

12:00 PM - 1:00 PM

DAY 1 - December 11, 2017

(Click sessions to view description)






Breakout Sessions

1:00 PM - 3:30 PM

DAY 2 - December 12, 2017

Conference Conclusion

4:00 - 4:15 PM

9:05 AM - 9:15 AM

3:30 PM - 4:00 PM

(Click sessions to view description)

9:00 AM - 9:15 AM

9:45 AM - 10:45 AM

2:15 PM - 2:45 PM

9:15 AM - 10:15 AM


Jeannine Ritchot

Executive Director, Regulatory Cooperation Division, Regulatory Affairs Sector, Treasury Board Secretariat, Government of Canada

Christopher Hodges, MA PhD FSALS

Professor of Justice Systems,

 University of Oxford

Neil Bouwer

Assistant Deputy Minister, leading the review of business innovation and clean technology programs at the Treasury Board Secretariat of Canada

Nina Purcell

Director of Regulatory Delivery & Wales - Food Standards Agency

Bonnie Rose

Chief Executive Officer and Registrar, Retirement Homes Regulatory Authority, Ontario

Nancy Bergeron

Chief, Cost-Benefit Analysis, Transport Canada, Co-Chair of the CFR Cost-Benefit Analysis Community of Practice

Srikanth Mangalam

President, Public Risk Management (PRISM) Institute

Giles Gherson

Deputy Minister, Ministry of Economic Development and Growth, Ministry of Research, Innovation and Science & Responsible for Small Business, Government of Ontario 

John Walter

Chief Executive Officer, Standards Council of Canada

Okhaide Akhigbe

Doctoral Candidate & Part-time Professor at University of Ottawa

Denise Amyot 

President and CEO

Colleges and Institutes Canada

Anne Bermonte

Director, Regulatory Modernization Branch, Ministry of Economic Development and Growth, Government of Ontario 

Alyssa Daku

Executive Director, Integrated Risk Management, Canadian Food Inspection Agency 

Nilufer Erdebil

Chief Executive Officer, Spring2 Innovation 

Gilles Leclerc

Superintendent, Securities Markets, Autorité des marchés financiers, Québec

Minna Päivinen

Director of Research, Finnish Safety and Chemicals Agency, Government of Finland 

Graham Russell

Director of Regulatory Delivery  

Department for Business Energy and Industrial Strategy 


Shauna Sylvester

Director, Centre for Dialogue, Simon Fraser University 

Dr. Phani K. Raj

General Engineer, Hazardous Materials Division, Office of Safety, US Federal Railroad Administration, US Department of Transportation 

Scott McNaughton

Chief, User-Centered Design Team, Transport Canada

Tim Bouma

Senior Analyst, Chief Information Officer Branch, Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat 

Jerry Koh

Director of Systems Innovation and MaRS Solutions Lab 

Aaron McCrorie

Director General, Civil Aviation, Transport Canada

Kevin Perry

Assistant Deputy Minister, Open for Business, Ontario Ministry of Economic Development and Growth 

(Click photo to view biography)

Michael Wernick

Clerk of the Privy Council and Secretary to the Cabinet 

Patricia Pledge

Senior Counsel, Advisory and Development Services Section, Legislative Services Branch, Department of Justice 

Anatole Papadopoulos

Executive Director, Canadian Digital Service

Iliana Oris Valiente

Managing Director and Global Blockchain Innovation Lead at Accenture, and Founder, ColliderX Applied Blockchain Research and Development Hub

Prasanna Lal Das

Lead Knowledge Management Officer, Trade & Competitiveness, World Bank Group 

Benoit D. Turcotte

Executive Director, Regulatory Frameworks & International Engagement, Regulatory Affairs, Transport Canada 

Diane Allan

Director General, Multimodal Strategies and Program Integration Directorate, Transport Canada

Elizabeth Hardy

Senior Lead, Behavioural Insights, Impact and Innovation Unit, Privy Council Office

Chrystia Chudczak

Executive Director, Innovation Lab, Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada 

Jacqueline Booth

Director of Regulatory Affairs, Rail Safety Directorate, Transport Canada 

Karen Proud

President, Consumer Health Products Canada 

Rory McAlpine

Senior Vice President, Government and Industry Relations 

Geoff Barrett

A/ Director General, Consumer Product Safety Directorate, Health Canada 

Dr. Evert Lindquist

Professor, School of Public Administration, University of Victoria 

Lisa Fast

Co-founder, Vation Inc. 

Carole Piovesan

Associate at McCarthy Tetrault 

Patrick O’Reilly

Economic Counselor, U.S. Embassy in Ottawa 

Noah Gitterman

Senior Policy Advisor, Ministry of Government and Consumer Services

Rima Sakr

Outreach and Engagement Advisor, Service and GC 2.0 Policy and Community Enablement Division, Chief Information Officer Branch, Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat 

Haris Khan

Advisor, Behavioural Insights, Impact and Innovation Unit, Privy Council Office 

Michael Karlin

Advisor at Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat